Lessons From a Bonsai Tree

Months ago I was given the honor of planting and caring for a bonsai tree. After working the soil and trimming the leaves and unnecessary branches, I took it home and found a place for it to flourish.

Each day, I watered it; talked to it; touching and caring for its leaves. Days and weeks went by before I found a little sign of growth after the initial shock of planting and trimming. This was a glorious day for it had been months in the making.

This little tree has taught me an incredible lesson in patience, cultivation, and perseverance. I saw myself differently in my role as a teacher. I’ve learned to understand the correlation between teaching and caring for a bonsai tree.

With new design students, I must immerse them into the soil of the world of design and trim away anything unnecessary to their true design growth. Each week of lecturing is similar to the watering and caring for their growth–it’s this perseverance and trust that you hope to see leaves of design growth.

Additionally, as a student, you have to trust you find the nurturing you need in order to cultivate your skills. Until you start having that growth can you reach out and find your direction. Until those leaves of skills grow, let the process happen and concepts will make sense and one day you may find yourself cultivating your own bonsai trees.

Standard

One thought on “Lessons From a Bonsai Tree

Leave a Reply

